Bozeman History

Home » Bozeman Biographies » Samuel Lewis

Samuel Lewis

“The Bozeman Barber”

By Norah

Hello, my name is Sam Lewis. What kind of trim do you want today? Oh, right your here for the interview. Well, I was born on the islands of Haiti on May19, 1832. As a boy I moved to New Jersey with my family. Soon after, my mother died in 1844 there. And three years later my father passed away also. At age 20 I moved to San Francisco, where I opened the first of many barbershops. Two years later I relocated to Sierra, Colorado and managed a new barbershop. Here I also mined in a local gold mine. I spent the money I earned to finance a two year trip to Europe and the West Indies. Finally, in 1864 I went back to San Francisco, then to Portland, Oregon, next to Idaho City, then finally settled with Montana.  Here I opened my third barbershop in Helena and owned a few others across the state. Then in 1868 I moved yet again to Bozeman. Here I founded my final barbershop on Main Street in 1870. I lived on 308 South Bozeman. I married a widow, Mrs. Melisa Bruce, who had five children from her previous marriage. I had one son, Sam Jr., who was born in 1880. With my prophet from cutting hair I paid for my sister’s education at Oberlin College and sponsored her trip to Florence, Italy. She became a famous sculptress. At age 64, I passed away. It was March 28, 1896. Mrs. Lewis died 31 years later, April 10, 1927.

