Bozeman History

Home » Uncategorized » Longfellow School…by Shad

Longfellow School…by Shad

Photo of Longfellow Elementary School in Bozeman, MT from bozeman.k-12.mt.us.org

Photo of Longfellow Elementary School in Bozeman, MT from bozeman.k-12.mt.us.org

I chose to learn something about my school, Longfellow Elementary, for my report.  I learned more than I thought I would.  Here are a few of the interesting things I learned.

Longfellow School first opened in 1907 when the streets were bare from trees.  It was rebuilt in 1939 by Federal Public Works Administration money.  This money came from President Roosevelt and his New Deal program.  Schools like Longfellow are the heart of their neighborhoods.  They also provide safe places for children and keep good property values.

The old Longfellow was a two-story, hip-roofed brick building.  Fred Willson designed the new Longfellow Elementary School.  He also designed Hawthorne and Irving.  They are all made out of concrete and are a simple design.  In 1939, the old building was torn down and the school was rebuilt the way we see it today, except for some small changes.

Our school is named after Henry Wadsworth Longfellow.  He was a poet who lived in the 1800’s.  He was born and raised in Portland, Maine.  Henry Longfellow’s father wanted him to be a lawyer.  But after a while his dad helped him get a job at a college in modern European languages.  You can find all of Longfellow’s poems at www.hwLongfellow.org.

I didn’t know I would learn so much.  I thought this topic would be so easy.  But, I learned how important schools are to their neighborhoods.  I also learned that schools are named after amazing people.  I would like to share a poem with you by Henry W. Longfellow.  It is called “The Castle Builder.”

 

The Castle Builder

A gentle boy, with soft and silken locks,

A dreamy boy, with brown and tender eyes,

A castle-builder, with his wooden blocks,

And towers that touch imaginary skies.

 

A fearless rider on his father’s knee,

An eager listener unto stories told

At the Round Table of the nursery,

Of heroes and adventures manifold.

 

There will be other towers for thee to build;

There will be other steeds for thee to ride;

There will be other legends, and all filled

With greater marvels and more glorified.

 

Build on, and make thy castles high and fair,

Rising and reaching upward to the skies;

Listen to voices in the upper air,

Nor lose thy simple faith in mysteries.

 

